Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
L'envol de la grue mâle
L'envol de la grue mâle
Publicité
Archives
1 décembre 2005

A story 2

_changeurs

I do not know where you are taking me. It's raining.
I am beginning to know my way from the huge neon signs on the buildings. But they are not helping me much yet.
We are caught in traffic once again. I like that. In spite of the pollution, noise, stress, and the ugliness of the slowly-moving urban landscape, being caught in traffic stretches the moments we spend side by side. It is a small help from the city. Nothing else, and no one else, helps us here.
I couldn't care less where you're taking me. Being stuck on this elevated highway is already a destination, as long as it is with you. Being where I should be, I do not need to move. And wherever I'll move, I'll be where I belong if you are the one taking me there.
I do not care where you are headed. At the restaurant, nobody told me where we should be going. You did not tell me anything. I did not ask you. We are alone in the world, so I will follow you wherever you please, or wherever you must, if you must.
I am waiting for the pouring rain to wipe the dust from the windshield. But the rain is already dusty, so why bother. Where shall we seek purity? I turn to you. You are staring at the cars ahead of us. Purity is behind your face, crouched like a dangerous feline. I can see it, I can feel it. It is an impressive thing to see. I suppose it could even scare me. But not now. I'm not even scared of finding out where you're taking me.
Let the rain wash our hearts, I think. But the rolling waves of a thousand rivers have already wiped them clean. It is a wonder that they are still there, in our chests, and not washed away. But what doesn't kill us makes us stronger. Love strips us to the bone.
Your hand on the wheel is very still. Your gestures are easy, without the slightest hesitation or uncertainty. You do know where you're taking me. I do not. You do not look worried about me so there's no reason I should worry about myself. You do not look worried about us, so there is no reason for me to worry about anything at all. You do not look worried about yourself so I feel perfectly contented. I do not worry because I am seeing you so quiet, so gentle, so secretive. Nothing can happen to me. I judge my future by the firm steadiness of your hand grasping the wheel.

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Publicité